Upcoming Races
October Newsletter

The WFRA Championships and Series are sponsored by Inov-8 and Cotswold Outdoor and Paul Fosh Auctions. Cotswold Outdoor offer a very good discount to WFRA members.
The Welsh Fell Runners Association (WFRA) is an independent organization providing the following services to fell / mountain runners in Wales – an annual race calendar, regular Newsletters (minimum 3 per year), website, Open Championships,Civil Liability insurance for members (including Race Organisers). Annual Membership is £10.The membership year runs from January 1st to December 31st. If you join after 1st October your membership will last until the end of the following year. If you would like to join a membership form is available on this website (click on Join). You will need acrobat reader to download the form. Acrobat reader is available free on www.adobe.co.uk.
2015 WFRA Wales and Borders Race Calendar
This is a comprehensive Calendar, containing details of most Fell races in Wales and the Borders. It includes some races not in the FRA Calendar. The Calendar is free to paid-up members. Members, who have renewed their membership for 2016, will automatically be sent a copy. Non members can obtain a copy for £5.00 from Sandra Rowlands. Cheques payable to ‘Welsh Fell Runners Association’.
Please enclose a C5 size(162mm x 229mm) SAE with standard first or second class postage.2016 Membership renewals Now   
Fell Race Organisers  WFRA Safety Requirements 2016
The WFRA Committee has finalised its revised Safety Requirements document (see above).
The Safety Requirements document re-iterates the principle that fell runners have primary responsibility for their own safety. The document includes minor changes in standards and clarifications but nothing that changes the essence of the sport. The Committee encourages all prospective competitors and Race Organisers to read the document carefully.

Any comments should be directed to Andrew Blackmore, Hon. Secretary Andrew Blackmore

Race organisers for any of the events listed on the WFRA site are invited to e.mail full results to the webmaster when they will be promptly published on our results pages.
WFRA Race Acceptance Policy
Four Fans Sugar Loaf   Black Mountains   Clwydian   Fan Fawr  Cnicht   just arrived I will also feature any race reports I receive

Volunteers Wanted
The WFRA is looking for volunteers to join its Management Committee. We are particularly interested in hearing from individuals who would be willing to assist us in managing our financial affairs and coordinating our annual programme of races. The duties are not onerous, especially as we will provide full support and guidance to all new Committee members. For an informal discussion, please contact any current Committee member and/ or Andrew Blackmore, Hon. Secretary. Andrew Blackmore

2016 Membership Form is now available
Moel Hebog Restarts

By now most of you will have received your 2016 race calendar. An amendment will be the inclusion of an old classic short race, namely Moel Hebog which will please many.

Hebog has been run on and off for many years but stopped recently due to limited support. Gonks Hughes of the newly reformed Hebog club has just announced that he will be taking the race back on again. To take place on Saturday 18th June, time to be confirmed. Craig.

Craig yr Allt     Saturday 23rd January     Results
Tor Y Foel     Sunday 10th January     Results
Tour de Llyn Llydaw      Results
Jubilee Plunge      27th December 2015 (not in calendar)      Results

In spite of all the foul weather we've been having recently, the rain stopped, the wind dropped and the skies cleared in time for this annual downhill gallop to be run in reasonable conditions. Even so, the ground remained saturated and the going very slippy, a combination that saw most of the field to descend at least part of the way on their backsides. A tight finish saw the first six runners cross the line within 20 seconds of each other. First to make it across the line was Sam Harrison of Bowland (11.22) closely pursued by Tom Roo (Mercia 11.27) and Chris Atherton (Ambleside 11.28). Louise Beetlestone (Eryri 14.50) was the first lady home followed by Emma Collins (Denbigh 15.19) and Victoria Whitehead (Denbigh 15.23)

Many thanks to the race marshals for their help and support

Blorenge      Sat 28th November      Results
Penmaenmawr Fell Race       Sat 21st November       Results

The winner Math Roberts, who smashed the course record, previously held by Lloyd Taggart.

NW Road Runners' Mark Davies performing his customary leap for his fans!

Ras Rhobell Fawr       Sat 7th November      Results      Photos
Clwydian Hills Race       Sun 1st November       Results        Race Report

Information             Facebook Page              Selected Pics

Sugar Loaf 24th Oct 2015      Results

Mendip Muddle 11th Oct 2015      Results

The Mendip Muddle is Weston AC's toughest race yet is arguably the most enjoyable. Enjoyable that is if you don't mind over 1600ft of climb over the 12.6 mile course. Held in the glorious and spectacular setting of the Mendip Hills in Somerset, the Muddle attracts a hardy bunch of runners with 267 finishers this year. Course conditions were good with not much mud about and it stayed dry all day so conditions were near perfect although path ‘improvement’ works near the trig point meant times were generally a bit slower.

The men’s winning time was nearly three minutes faster than last year in an impressive 1:23:52 by Joe Dale (SM London Fields Triathalon Club). Tom Carpenter (SM Westbury Harriers) was second in 1:26:10 followed by Christian Green (SM Wells City Harriers) in 1:29:50. For the ladies, Clare Prosser (FV40 Wells City Harriers) was first lady for the third year in a row in 1:32:49 and came 7th overall. Mary Menon (SF U/A) came in second in 1:40:29 and Sarah Chaloner (FV40 U/A) was third in 1:43:55. Of note were very good times for the MV60, Stephen Moran (NVAC), 1:34:38 and MV70, Geoff Newton (Tadworth AC) 1:49:54, categories.

A donation of £1,250 will be made to Mike Owen from the Wrington Vale RNLI and with food/beverage sales we anticipate the total sum raised from this event to be approximately £2,000. A big thank you to the Weston AC and RNLI marshals and all the volunteers who help make this a very successful event.p> A note for your diary, next year’s Muddle will take place on Sunday October 9th 2016. See you there! Full race results and Muddle details can be found at www.westonac.co.uk/mendipmuddle

Congratulations to Hugh Aggleton (MDC) and Lauren Jeska (Eryri) worthy winners of the 2015 Open Welsh Championships sponsored by Inov-8.
Also pictured is Craig Jones, WFRA Chairman who presented the awards.

Ceiriog Canter      Sat 10th October      Results

Once again had fine weather which made for good running conditions. The course changed slightly this year to summit on top of Vivod mountain so providing panoramic views for those not watching their feet. The distance has slightly increasing to 7.1miles/11.4km with a gain of 1307 feet. New course so new course records of 48.33 for Hugh Aggleton of Mynyddwyr De Cymru and Catherine Voyce of Shropshire Shufflers 62.20.

Thank you once again to all the marshalls, helpers and our sponsors, The Cross Stores, Glyn Ceiriog.
All runners were welcomed back to the centre and the café was open with home made soup and cakes. Diolch y di iawn all runners .
Hope to see you next year             Ceiriog Canter.

Fan Fawr Fell Race        Sat 3rd October       Photos by Gill Stott       Photos by Jane Aggleton       Results

Photo by Gill Stott
Photo by Jane Aggleton